Techie Tuesday ~ Texture Paste

I’ve been super excited with this Techie Tuesday post. I know I’ve covered Texture Paste before, and I still love doing that Technique with the Embossing Powder (I’ll update that one soon too!); for this week, I’ve tried something I saw on a Post from Tim Holtz over the weekend where Texture Paste had been used with Distress Glitter. I was in love instantly!

Then I was thinking; “That’s great on plain Texture Paste, but what would it look like with some colour added?” So I tried it…and fall in love some more. I’m really thinking this is going to be awesome for some of the Christmas Cards I’ve still to make for this year. 

I’ve had to force myself to stay off Instagram so the end result is still ‘fresh’ for many of you. I have snuck a peek on my Facebook Group of the steps I’ve taken which I’ll share with you now. Fingers crossed this will inspire you to give this Technique a try as well.

Start with your fresh Texture Paste and plop a dollop on your Non Stick Craft Mat. It’s really up to you as to how much you use. I was rather generous for this Post as I’m planning on using this for a few card backgrounds and features, so the more the merrier.

techie-tuesday-texture-paste-polished-jade-2

 

I’ve added a few drips of Polished Jade Dylusions Ink Spray before mixing it in with the Paste. If you want a full colour, mix your colour in well, if you’d like more of a marble effect with some of the white showing through, only blend it a little. The choice is yours.

Next I added another dollop of Distress Glitter to my….ummm, well…mess is about the only term I can use to be honest, but it’s such a fun mess. 🙂 Repeat the mixing process with your Distress Glitter until you feel it’s all in there and pretty evenly mixed in. You may be thinking by now that this is a huge FAIL as it won’t appear too sparkly while you’re looking at your lump of mess. Have faith…all shall be revealed.

Techie Tuesday Texture Paste & Distress Glitter (2).JPG

 

Secure your chosen Stencil and apply your Texture Paste mix. Even now, while you’re spreading the Texture Paste on your Stencil, you’ll probably be thinking “Yeah right, like this is working….where’s my sparkle??” I know I was thinking that at this point. It wasn’t until I removed my Stencil and moved my card that I noticed it was in there. Set aside to allow the Texture Paste to dry naturally. If you’re in a hurry, use a Heat Tool to hurry things along; I was more than happy to let Nature take it’s course this time around.

You’ll see when your Texture Paste is dry more Distress Glitter showing through. It’s subtle for the most part, until you move the card around into different light, then you’ll see why I’m besotted with this Technique. Not that there’s anything wrong with coloured Texture Paste. It is pretty awesome on it’s own truth be told. The Glitter just adds that extra touch of whimsy. 

One big Tip when it comes to trimming your card piece, and I learnt this one by trial and error. Turn your card so the Texture Paste is underneath. Trying to trim with the Paste facing you is possible, messy, frustrating and great for dulling your blade. A world easier to just flip it over and do it upside down. 🙂 Pinkie promise.

I wanted to do a Card that would wow you with the placement of this awesome Technique..fingers crossed this does the above steps some justice. 

 

This Brickwork Stencil just begs to be used as a chimney with Christmas Stockings and Baubles handing from it on either Christmas Cards or a Christmas Scrap Layout. That may be for another Post. 😉 I’ve used the Winter Wonderland Stamps from Kaszazz to add a semi traditional feel. Overall I’m quite happy with the end result. And am now looking forward to making up some more Cards with the same Technique.

What do you think? Is this a Technique you’d love to try yourself? Or have you already done this? Please share your photos if you’ve done this, or are about to jump in feet first (like I did) and do this for the first time as well. 🙂

Till Next Time!! xxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Techie Tuesday ~ Texture Paste

Leave a comment