2016 Card Trends; still on track?

I love scrolling through Pinterest, as many of us do, and seeing so many different card making styles and designs. And then I get confused; there can be too much of a good thing.

Which got me thinking; “What were the predicted trends for this year?” Kaszazz does a great amount of research on this, and they certainly provide us Consultants plenty of inspiration and beautiful products. And I love how majority of the Workshops are actually designed by Consultants. Which are pretty much on trend.

I’ve been reviewing some of the clips from CHA over the weekend and a number of the predicted trends are certainly still going strong. I’ve even started to enjoy one or two of them! πŸ˜€ Others well, hmm, haven’t seen too much of.

Here’s a few of the ones that I’ve come across. Would love to hear your thoughts on these as well. πŸ™‚

1/ Colouring In ~ There’s no doubt this is still HUGE!! I am starting to understand the appeal to be honest. And I am loving the latest Colouring Pads and Kits from Kaszazz. I find it interesting to see the preferred medium is markers. For me, my Watercolour Pencils are easier to work with, and can be just as vibrant. So I’m a little surprised with Markers being so popular for this one.

2/ Rose Gold ~ There’s no doubt metallics are BIG right now. And I for one adore them!!! Then again, I am a girl who loves her Bling, so there’s really no surprise there. But Rose Gold? I’m certainly seeing it in the stores for jewellery and accessories. I just haven’t seen it as much in cards and scrapping. Or are we a little slower here in BrisVegas?

f_card_17_rosegoldheart_pop3

3/ Journals ~ How awesome is this Trend?? To see so many starting to record what I’d still call a diary, to me is brilliant! I do love the Journal Pages and Art that has been flooding the net this year. Very inspiring.

4/ Watercolour ~ Yay!! I do love this one, and now that I’ve worked out how to do it to suit my own quirkiness, love, love, love!! πŸ˜€ The washed out looks that can be created to me is just calming and peaceful. I’m preferring this a lot more than ombre, though I still love a good ombre, more for nails though. πŸ˜‰

5/ Fun Folds ~ When I mentioned this one to The Man over the weekend he laughed. Not because he disagrees; more because a) he knew what I was talking about and b) he’s seen how ‘fun’ these can really be behind the scenes. And looking through my photos from this year I can certainly see why he laughed. I’ve certainly stepped outside my own comfort zones and skill sets and attempted more and more Fun Fold cards as the year has gone on. What would be your fave Fun Fold to create?

6/ Patterns ~ Almost a no brainer. For me, I love Chevron and Tribal patterns πŸ™‚ It’s great to see Cards with more and more Patterns coming through, especially when teamed with bold, bright colours.Β  Which patterns have caught your eye this year?

7/ Build Up Stamp Sets ~ Multi Layering Stamps to build up an image certainly creates some stunning Stamped Images. I actually don’t have any of these, not quite sure why not. Kaszazz does do a few 2 Step Stamps, none have happened to find their way to my Crafty Play Zone. Hmm, may have to work on that. For those of you awesome readers who have used Build Up Stamps, what do you think?

All in all, there’s some fantastic elements out there you’re sure to find a trend to make your own and enjoy. Would love to hear what you think of these and of any other trends you’ve come across this year. Anyone brave enough to make a prediction for 2017?

Till Next Time!! xx

 

 

6 thoughts on “2016 Card Trends; still on track?

  1. PaperPuff says:

    It never crossed my mind that there would be trend predictions, but of course it makes sense for craft as much as fashion! I think I have been (occasionally) braver with pattern this year and have LOVED the layering stamps. To be honest, they were probably what got me back into stamping again. I wish I could colour though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

