Techie Tuesday – Perfect Pearls in Colour

This week for Techie Tuesday I wanted to have some fun…some very messy, get down and dirty kinda fun. With a touch of glam thrown in for good measure. And this is where you now find me. 🙂

I saw a few clips last week while I was laid up that featured so many of the different colour palettes for Perfect Pearls by Ranger. And I love them!! Which got me to thinking about adding my own colour to suit whatever it is I want them to suit.

Perfect Pearls in Colour demo

Previously on other Projects I’ve applied Perfect Pearls directly to freshly stamped images to create a softer, shimmery tint to my image, blended in with watercolour pencils for the same effect and the oldie but goodie, mixed in my Mini Mister Bottle with water to create a very shimmery spray.

 Until today, I’ve never tried to colour Perfect Pearls with re-inkers, so this was my challenge for this Techie Tuesday Post. Goals were to see a) Can it be done? & b) How effective is the end result?  I can safely say….NAILED IT!!

 I’ve used only a smidge of Perfect Pearls on the end of a spatula, added a smidge of a smidge to a tiny plastic container (for my Archival Re-Inker) and separated the rest of the smidge into two hills. One for the beautiful and rich, Fired Brick; the other for my all time fave Distress Colour, Squeezed Lemonade.

For each smidge I’ve only added one teeny drop from the dropper. Archival’s Manganese Blue is in the container to save cleaning up later. A fair bit easier than working on cleaning it all off my Craft Mat I can assure you. If you want it darker, simply add more colour; lighter, add more Perfect Pearls.

To colour my stamped image (done earlier on watercolour card with Stayz On Jet Black) I’ve used a slightly damp, fine paintbrush to pick up some of the Manganese Blue Pearls and colour. Because the Archival Inks don’t react with water as the Distress Inks do, I’m doing this one first and foremost. It did appear to dry rather quickly too, which helps.

I’ve then spritzed water over the entire watercolour card prior to using another fine paintbrush (this time rather wet) to swirl the remaining colours around on their own. I’ve then spritzed some water onto my Craft Mat and ‘combined’ (loosely used) my two Distress Colours together.

 Because of the added moisture, when I applied my Squeezed Lemonade and Fired Brick PP’s to my card, there is a fair amount of….hmmm seepage sounds ugh, bleeding? It ran pretty much, which is fine as I was planning on Fussy Cutting the image at the end. If you’re not into Fussy Cutting, I advise you skip the spritzing of the card and just keep your brush damp, not wet.

Perfect Pearls in Colour 2.JPG

 With a very wet brush, I was able to blend all my colours on the image once I’d finished adding my Pearly Inks…the end result has honestly won me over in a big way.

 **When cleaning up afterwards, I’ve found using some Stamp Cleaner works a treat on the tips of my brush that’s been dipped and swirled in the Archival Blends. I kind of ‘massage’ it through the bristles, being gentle and mindful of the brush itself. After the massage, then I swirl in around in a glass of water to rinse and spin so to speak….ooh sounds more like a session at the Day Spa! J Lucky Brush! 😉

As always, if there’s any of the Kaszazz Products you’d like to Order for your own Crafty Play Time, please send me a Private Message, or email and I’ll be in touch. Oooh and I will ask for your forgiveness with the quality of the video. I’m not brilliant at painting while standing up, but was the only way I could manage it today.

Now over to  you…have you tried this? Are you now thinking of trying it? Any other hints or tips you’d love to share with me about Perfect Pearls? I’d love to hear from you and certainly learn some more great techniques for my next Crafty Play Time!

Till Next Time!! xx

4 thoughts on “Techie Tuesday – Perfect Pearls in Colour

Leave a Reply

