Techie Tuesday ~ Scoring

I was originally going to do a Post today about Easel Fold Cards and the variety of styles there are for one of my favourite Folding Styles.

IMG_5438

And then I was thinking, well that’s more of a Style than a Technique, but to make them you really need to have the Techniques right with measuring and scoring. So….today I’m covering one of the Basic Techniques you’ll use for either Cardmaking or Scrapping.

Now there are different ways you can Score your Cards & Papers. I use the Paper Trimmer from Kaszazz for trimming and scoring, and that works well for me. I’ve never used a Scoring Board, though I can see the appeal. Personally, I love using my Paper Trimmer. But that’s me. πŸ˜‰

Scoring is important, especially for the Easel Cards. Scored Lines over just folding looks far more professional and ‘finished’. This is true for Cards, Gift Boxes, Embellishments…anything that requires a crisp, sharp fold.

A bone folder, bonefolder, or folding bone is a dull-edged hand tool used to fold and crease material in crafts such as bookbinding,[1][2] cardmaking,[3] origami,[4] and other paper crafts that require a sharp crease or fold.

To Score, you can use a blunt knife if you are just starting out..but a Bone Folder is certainly a Tool you’ll want to be investing in sooner than later. It just makes life so much easier as well as giving your work the finished, professional look setting your Craft into the ‘Handmade’ over ‘Homemade’ category.

Jim, from The Gentleman Crafter has a few quick videos showing different Bone Folders and Scoring that I thought I’d share with you today. πŸ™‚ Great Tip on how to not ‘break’ your Card or Paper when you fold from a Score too. πŸ™‚

Hope these help you with your Techniques, especially if you’re just starting out in Papercraft. I can honestly say, the right Tools and Techniques makes my Crafting Life soooo much easier and enjoyable. πŸ™‚

Till Next Time!! xx

Leave a Reply

