What makes for a great Pin?

Another awesome Blogger on here (PaperPuff) recently posted about one of her most popular, Pinned cards and her wonderment at the reaction people have had to it.

Which raises the question…what makes for a great Pin?

When you’re on Pinterest what appeals to you? Do you search for a particular subject or just browse and see what catches your eye?

I’m honestly a mixture of both. More times than not I’m actually using the search function to find Pins relating to my current interests. An example of this is over the weekend when The Man asked me to find some ideas for him to create for me re: Craft Storage. He’d kept coming across images that had the little “Pin It” button and wanted to know what the heck was going on in with ‘The Net’ and what on earth is this Pin stuff? Shows how much he hasn’t listened over the years when I’ve been yapping on about Pinterest this and that….lol. Honestly, can’t blame him…hehehehe.

So I showed him just how amazing Pinterest really is for finding inspiration and getting ideas on prices at the same time. One of the searches we undertook was for DIY Craft Storage and the amount of information that opened up on the laptop before our very eyes had him looking like Aladdin the first time he entered the Cave. 🙂

But it made me think again on what makes for a great Pin? What is it about certain Pins that get them re-pinned so many more times than others? Is it the keywords, tags and phrases used in the description? You’d think that would have a fair bit to do with it. But then you have to have a decent image as well to back it all up right?

With cardmaking, what makes it so popular for repins? Is this the measure we should be considering when making cards for markets and events to sell to the public? Does it really give us a temperature gauge of public needs/desires?

My little ‘experiment’ are these two cards I made up for Christmas. I know how popular the Christmas hashtag is….unless you want to loose yourself in Pinterest for an entire afternoon you’ll need to add more in your Search Bar than just Christmas….unless the plan is to loose an afternoon in Pinterest in which case….Christmas it is! 😀

I’ve used the same basic design and the same SB Paper by Kaszazz. I have changed the embellishments I’ve used this time. I am thinking of making up another two cards with everything the mirror image except changing the SB Paper I use. :/ Hmmm, worth considering.

I’ve used the same Tags for both Pins, popped them in the same Board and done them at the same time as much as you possibly can with Pinterest. 🙂 Now to sit back and wait….and wait….and lose an afternoon in Pinterest while I’m at it. All in the name of research of course. 😉

Hope you have an amzing Thursday ahead!!

Till Next Time! xx

 

 

3 thoughts on “What makes for a great Pin?

  1. PaperPuff says:

    Lovely cards! I have pinned them on to two of my boards – Christmas Cards and Cards and copied your site address again in the description, just to make sure people come see you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

