Techie Tuesday ~ Paper Piecing Technique

I’ve been racking my brains all day yesterday to work out what to do this week’s Techie Tuesday Post about. It finally clicked late last night, so here goes nothing.

Last October I did a fundraiser Afternoon Tea to raise funds towards women’s cancers and prior to the Event I ran a Card Class making up some gorgeous 10x10cm cards which featured Paper Piecing. The ladies all made me promise to never, ever do a Class like this again…though every Card that was made looked amazing, it was fiddly and a bit daunting with the amount of blade work included.

Which brings me to today’s Post. Paper Piecing.

I don’t really do enough of it, and certainly nothing too fiddly pretty much since last October. So I thought for today I’d refresh my own memory whilst covering the Technique for you.

Basically Paper Piecing can be one of two Techniques; one is for quilting (so not my area of knowledge trust me!) and the other is for Scrapbooking and Cards, which is where we’re going to be focusing.

It involves ‘layering’ an image to add a more visually interesting component to your work.

A person working on a scrapbook may use several different types, colours, and styles of paper to create a paper pieced design….The primary tool a person needs to paper piece is a pair of scissors. She may also use a die cut machine, which stamps out shapes in paper using pre-made forms similar to cookie cutters. Some scrapbookers, especially those who are more experienced, prefer to design and cut their own patterns for piecing.  ~ via wiseGeek.com

Wow, wasn’t aware my diecut butterflies for my Butterfly Bling Card are pretty much, by technicality Paper Piecing…what do ya know!?!

For me, I’m still working on it being cutting up the same stamped image on different papers prior to layering and attaching with Multi Medium Matte Paste (as we did in the Kaszazz Workshop 2H1396 Pieces of Cake) to create a layered, 3D stamped image. That’s my simple explanation.:)

Either way you do it, the end result is stunning and certainly appealing for a variety of Cards and Scrap Pages. Plus the added bonus for those who may have a vision impairment, they can feel the multi layers. I like to keep that in mind when I make cards for my Gran. She is legally blind, though depending on the light she is able to ‘see’ more than we remember she can…but I love making her cards as I add a lot of texture elements so she gets as much enjoyment from feeling them as she would from seeing them.

_MG_8256

Would love to see any Paper Piecing that you’ve enjoyed making up, and as always, love to hear from you.

Till Next Time!! xx

5 thoughts on “Techie Tuesday ~ Paper Piecing Technique

  1. PaperPuff says:

    Lovely cards.We all need more cake in our lives. I really like paper piecing – I find it quite relaxing but probably because I opt for scissors instead of a blade!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. PaperPuff says:

    No, I just stamp it onto patterned or different coloured card or paper and cut it out, making sure I cut a tiny bit inside, or at least on, the line if possible. Sometimes totally flat, sometimes good old 3d foam for a bit of extra oomph and that’s it for me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

