Techie Tuesday ~ Distress Ink Tie Dye

Ok back on track today after mixing up the Scrap Challenge Day for this week. There’s no way I could’ve kept the results of Saturday night’s Cyber Crop under my hat any longer than Monday. And yes, I’m hopeless at keeping Christmas pressies under wraps till Christmas Day. 🙂

Today’s Technique is inspired by our younger cousin, Bek. Over the weekend she visited us and was wanting to do a tie dye style effect for a card she was making. I honestly couldn’t think of anything at the time, then yesterday morning  lightbulb moment; Distress Ink Pads directly to paper! D’oh!

I was actually in the middle of making up yesterday’s Card Map design (for more details visit my Facebook Page) and was waiting for the layered butterflies to dry before attaching. Then another lightbulb moment and this is what I came up with. The butterflies work better on this one than on their originally intended card. I’ve used Wilted Violet and Picked Raspberry Distress Ink Pads for this background as a) I love the colour combination and b) I’m involved in a 5 Day Card Challenge this week with Pink as the Theme.

IMG_5879 (2)

So how to do this pretty awesome, tie dye looking Technique?

Pretty simple isn’t it? Pick one or two Distress Ink Pads that you like, add some paper to scrunch and wrinkle, spritz with a little (or a lot) of water and dry…either waiting it out or with a Heat Tool. Both ways work a treat!

I’m thinking this would be a great Technique to get the younger Crafters into during Wet Day Play or School Holidays. Oooh, could you imagine an entire Scrap Page done in this style? Hmmm, may need to try that soon.

Which colours would you love to try this Technique with?

Till Next Time!! xx

Leave a Reply

