Revamping an oldie but a goodie

Last year for my very first Card Class held and conducted by myself, we made up a set of 3 really manly man man Cards; great for Birthdays and Father’s Day (which was just around the corner) I still love the colour combinations and the feel of this original Kaszazz Workshop.

A few  of the Stamps have since retired as has the Chipped Sapphire Distress Stain…which means part this Project does require some alteration to bring it up to a current standard.

 

This first of three Cards (I’ll work on the other two Cards during the week ahead.) I’ve used the SB Essentials White Cardstock for my Card Front as well as for Stamping/Fussy Cutting. For the Base Card I’ve used SB Essentials Blue Jay Cardstock as per the original Cards.

IMG_5506 (2)

I have swapped out the original Washi Tape for a current one (dots/spots) which I’ve ‘grunged’ up with some Brushed Pewter Distress Stain. All Stamping on this particular Card was done using Distress Paint in Chipped Sapphire, just for something different. I love how the Generation Stamping turns out using the Distress Paint over normal Ink Pads.

The Tag is simply the top half of our original Tags covered with Chipped Sapphire Distress Paint and Washi Tape. I also stamped the Bi Plane Large Stamp twice in Chipped Sapphire in the attempt to add some interest and tone on tone layering. The Background Stamping also used the Bi Plane Stamp as well as the Mesh Stamp for some added interest.

The Sentiment is from the Mini Messages Happy Uncut Set, also stamped in Distress Paint…overall, I’m not too sold on this update. I’ve found it tricky to avoid using Stamps I know will be retiring in the near future; in my thought pattern there’s no point in using Stamps that will be extinct before the end of the year, as then I’ll have to look at doing this again…and I’m too lazy for that!

IMG_5515

This also feels a little too stark for my liking…but that’s what Play Time is for…so perhaps I should say this is Version 1.1? 🙂 Believe it or not (no, not the Greatest American Hero Theme) that thought actually makes me smile. Hmmmm, there’s something to that. I’ll work with it and share with you before too long what develops. 🙂 From little things, big things grow right?

Have an awesome week ahead!!

Till Next Time!! xx

2 thoughts on “Revamping an oldie but a goodie

Leave a Reply

